top of page
Search
  • senecagriggs

Harold Camping's Folly

Harold Camping and Departout


I started listening to Family Radio in the 80's. I loved Jerry Edinger with the night show, Omar Nadeel, and others. I liked that Harold Camping was firm as to the reliability of Scripture but thought, even in the 80's, he said some things that just did not ring true according my to Evangelical upbringing. AND THEN, in the early 1900 he trotted out his predication [ 99% sure ] that the Rapture would happen Sept 6, 1994. I was sure he was wrong but I waited anxiously thinking, "Hey if he's right, I'm a believer and I will be Raptured with the other believers." Well of course, the 6th came and went with no Rapture. It was rumored that believers went and stood in the Armory where Harold's "church" met standing with their Bibles pointed towards the sky awaiting the event. Of course it didn't happen. I waited for Harold to apologize for his false prophecy but he never really apologized. He went on as if nothing had happened. I thought he had learned his lesson - was I naive. So in the next 3 years or so, he picked out another 10 dates; none of them brought the Rapture of course. He was quiet about the Rapture for a long time but somewhere around 2006 he announced he had it right this time, the physical Rapture of the true believers would take place May 21, 2011. He had all these mathematical equations; it was quite impressive unless you understood that he had been wrong more than 10 times before.

So when did you become aware of the May 21, 2011 prediction? What has happened in your life since?



101 views1 comment
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page